Powered by People


Commercial Law

Our commercial services

Saunders & Co acts for commercial clients across the board, from small owner-operator businesses, through to the small to medium enterprise sector and right through to large corporate firms with multi-million dollar operations. No matter the size, we tailor our advice to suit.

The high level advice and full suite of legal expertise provided by our specialist commercial team reassures clients as they embark on a new venture or take their existing business to the next level.

We ensure they have the systems and processes in place to manage risk and handle their day-to-day contracts with ease.

Expert advice is key during business formation to ensure ownership and company structures are correct. We also help clients to comply with Employment Law and ensure their valuable Intellectual Property is secured.

Shareholder agreements, partnership arrangements and the development of standard terms of trade are other areas of expertise. We can also assist with family estate planning considerations when these matters intersect with a new or existing business operation.

General matters such as business and property sale and purchase agreements, leasing, financing, contract administration, health and safety compliance, and succession planning are also carried out by our multi-faceted team, which can also advise on governance and board structure, mergers and acquisitions, and growth strategies.

Our commercial services include:

    • Buying and selling a business
    • Business restructuring
    • Buying and selling commercial property
    • Company formation
    • Financing
    • Leasing
    • Mortgagee sales
    • Personal property securities
    • Property development
    • Service Agreements
    • Distributor Agreements
    • Terms of Trade
    • Tender documents

Examples of our recent work

  • Due diligence advice on a $30 million+ retail development project
  • Representation for a rural sub-division developer, involving extensive negotiations for numerous conditions and easements with neighbouring parties and other interested third parties.
  • Share purchase for a $3 million hospitality venture, including advice on shareholders agreements, family trust formation, drafting of the contract to buy/sell shares, financing with cross guarantees between companies, deeds of priorities, assignment of deeds of leases
  • Sale of a small hospitality business
  • Independent contractor agreements and terms of trade drafted for an irrigation business
  • Major retail chain expansion – lease review and negotiations, franchising agreements, advertising and sponsorship contracts

Get further advice from

Toby Giles

Toby Giles

Partner

T +64 3 963 1466
M 021 441 255
E toby.giles@saunders.co.nz

Ben Frampton

Ben Frampton

Partner

T +64 3 963 1454
M 027 535 4616
E ben.frampton@saunders.co.nz

David Lang

David Lang

Partner

T +64 3 963 1459
M 027 322 6776
E david.lang@saunders.co.nz

Jeremy Bull - Hornby

Jeremy Bull

Partner

T +64 3 265 0911
M 021 228 5656
E jeremy.bull@saunders.co.nz

Paul Coghlan

Paul Coghlan

Partner

T +64 3 963 1465
E paul.coghlan@saunders.co.nz

Nicola Coombes - Ferrymead

Cran Bull

Cran Bull MNZM

Consultant

T +64 3 963 1451
E clb@saunders.co.nz

Peter Wood - Hornby

Peter Wood

Consultant

T +64 3 265 0917
M 021 0263 1494
E peter.wood@saunders.co.nz

Liam Glubb

Liam Glubb

Senior Associate

T +64 3 966 7710
M 021 026 19110
E liam.glubb@saunders.co.nz

Meg Gregson

Meg Gregson

Associate

T +64 3 963 1458
M 027 412 7824
E meg.gregson@saunders.co.nz

Ross Keenan

Ross Keenan

Senior Associate

T +64 3 966 7702
M 021 599 673
E ross.keenan@saunders.co.nz

Colenna Ward

Colenna Ward

Associate

T +64 3 963 1464
M 021 813 135
E colenna.ward@saunders.co.nz

Nathaniel Heslop

Nathaniel Heslop

Lawyer

T +64 3 963 1467
M 021 020 62292
E nathaniel.heslop@saunders.co.nz